Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) – New Zealand

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) was established in 1959, with the first scholars selected in 1960. The Plan was suggested in an influential speech in September 1958 by Sidney Smith, a former President of the University of Toronto and later Canadian Minister of External Affairs. The goal of the Plan is to nurture educational links among Commonwealth countries and to strengthen the ideals upon which the Commonwealth was founded. The Plan aims to make awards available to people of high intellectual promise who are expected to make a significant contribution to life in their own countries on their return from study abroad. Over 27,000 Commonwealth citizens have held awards – many going on to reach the very highest levels within their profession.

In New Zealand, the CSFP is administered by Universities New Zealand – Te Pōkai Tara.

Annually, the New Zealand CSFP Committee offers up to eight scholarships to Canada and the UK combined. All applications from Canada and the UK will be assessed on merit by the New Zealand CSFP Committee.

For more information, check here: